List of Countries in Africa


Africa is the third largest continent in the world, with the second largest population, as well as the largest number of countries.

The Africa is the only continent situated in all the land of the hemispheres: north, south, east and west. This is because it is cut at the same time by the Equator and the Greenwich Meridian. It has a total area of 30,221,532 km² (the third largest in the world) and a population of 1.033 billion people (the second most populous).

Africa is bordered on the north by the Mediterranean Sea, responsible for separating that continent from Europe. To the northeast, it borders Asia, through the territory of Egypt, and is also bordered by the Red Sea.To the east, the African continent is bathed by the Indian Ocean; To the west, by the Atlantic Ocean.

List of All Countries in Africa

  1. Algeria
  2. Angola
  3. Benin
  4. Botswana
  5. Burkina Faso
  6. Burundi
  7. Cabo Verde
  8. Cameroon
  9. Central African Republic (CAR)
  10. Chad
  11. Comoros
  12. Democratic Republic of the Congo
  13. Republic of the Congo
  14. Cote d’Ivoire
  15. Djibouti
  16. Egypt
  17. Equatorial Guinea
  18. Eritrea
  19. Ethiopia
  20. Gabon
  21. Gambia
  22. Ghana
  23. Guinea
  24. Guinea-Bissau
  25. Kenya
  26. Lesotho
  27. Liberia
  28. Libya
  29. Madagascar
  30. Malawi
  31. Mali
  32. Mauritania
  33. Mauritius
  34. Morocco
  35. Mozambique
  36. Namibia
  37. Niger
  38. Nigeria
  39. Rwanda
  40. Sao Tome and Principe
  41. Senegal
  42. Seychelles
  43. Sierra Leone
  44. Somalia
  45. South Africa
  46. South Sudan
  47. Sudan
  48. Swaziland
  49. Tanzania
  50. Togo
  51. Tunisia
  52. Uganda
  53. Zambia
  54. Zimbabwe

In all, there are 55 countries, of which six are island and 49 are continental, including South Sudan, the world’s youngest country, whose independence was declared in 2011. The trend, however, is that the number of countries continue Growing, since most of the territorial borders of the African countries are very fragile, that is, it involves constant disputes for independence or even for unification. Most of these issues are related to the process of colonization of the African continent.

Countries in West Africa

Below is a list of west African countries:

  1. Benin
  2. Burkina Faso
  3. Cape Verde
  4. Gambia
  5. Ghana
  6. Guinea
  7. Guinea Bissau
  8. Ivory Coast
  9. Liberia
  10. Mali
  11. Mauritania
  12. Niger
  13. Nigeria
  14. Saint Helena
  15. Senegal
  16. Sierra Leone
  17. Togo

The African landscape is marked by the predominance of plateaus, which are divided into northern ,central-southern and eastern. These regions are formed by ancient geological formations and, therefore, more intensely transformed by exogenous relief modeling agents.

In some regions, the presence of mountains, with higher altitudes, stands out, emphasizing the Chain of the Atlas, in the extreme north of the continents. In other points, it is possible to observe the presence of some important valleys, especially the Nile, Congo and Niger rivers.

Countries in East Africa

The following is a list of East African countries:

  1. Burundi
  2. Comoros
  3. Djibouti
  4. Eritrea
  5. Ethiopia
  6. Kenya
  7. Madagascar
  8. Malawi
  9. Mauritius
  10. Mayotte
  11. Mozambique
  12. Reunion
  13. Rwanda
  14. Seychelles
  15. Somalia
  16. South Sudan
  17. Tanzania
  18. Uganda
  19. Zambia
  20. Zimbabwe

In terms of climate, the location of the African continent contributes to the constitution of a predominantly tropical climate, with generally warm regions with low rainfall. In fact, it is only in the vicinity of the Equator that the rainfall is higher due to the presence of the Congo Forest, making the climate drier as the continent is distributed to the north and south.

To the north lies the desert Sahara , the world’s second largest, with more than nine million square kilometers, constituting a larger area than that of Brazil. To the south there is the desert Kalahari , the fifth largest in the world, involving the area of several South African countries. In addition to these two landscapes, there are several types of natural vegetation, such as the Congo Forest (a type of Equatorial Forest), desert plants, Mediterranean vegetation, steppes, and mainly Savannahs, which predominate in the Continent and that in much resemble the Brazilian Cerrado.


Economically, the African continent is known worldwide as the poorest in the world. Most countries have very low monetary wealth – despite abundant natural wealth – with the worst Human Development Indexes on the planet. Of the nations with serious social problems, such as malnutrition, illiteracy and child mortality, the majority are African countries.

Countries in North Africa

  1. Algeria
  2. Egypt
  3. Libya
  4. Morocco
  5. Sudan
  6. Tunisia
  7. Western Sahara

This situation is intensifying because the African countries are mainly raw material exporters. In this case, the economies of countries become very dependent on developed countries. In addition, most natural resources are under the possession of a few, which increases the concentration of income and contributes to the local population not receiving the benefits of productivity of their land.

You will then be able to give more insight into the African continent, both in its physical aspects and in its social and political characteristics.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *